Try Our Apps


Avoid these words. Seriously.


or Djakarta, Jacarta

[juh-kahr-tuh] /dʒəˈkɑr tə/
a seaport in and the capital of Indonesia, on the NW coast of Java.
Formerly Batavia.


[in-duh-nee-zhuh, -shuh, -zee-uh, -doh-] /ˌɪn dəˈni ʒə, -ʃə, -zi ə, -doʊ-/
East Indies (def 1).
Republic of. Formerly Netherlands East Indies, Dutch East Indies. a republic in the Malay Archipelago consisting of 13,677 islands, including Sumatra, Java, Sulawesi, the S part of Borneo, the W part of New Guinea, the Moluccas, the Lesser Sunda Islands, Bali, and Madura: gained independence from the Netherlands in 1949. 741,098 sq. mi. (1,919,443 sq. km).
Capital: Jakarta.
Origin of Indonesia
Indo- + Greek nês(os) island + -ia Unabridged
Based on the Random House Dictionary, © Random House, Inc. 2018.
Cite This Source
Examples from the Web for Jakarta
Contemporary Examples
British Dictionary definitions for Jakarta


the capital of Indonesia, in N West Java: founded in 1619 and ruled by the Dutch until 1945; the chief trading centre of the East in the 17th century; University of Indonesia (1947). Pop: 8 347 083 (2000) Former name (until 1949) Batavia Former spelling Djakarta


a republic in SE Asia, in the Malay Archipelago, consisting of the main islands of Sumatra, Java and Madura, Bali, Sulawesi (Celebes), Lombok, Sumbawa, Flores, the Moluccas, part of Timor, part of Borneo (Kalimantan), Papua (formerly Irian Jaya), and over 3000 small islands in the Indian and Pacific Oceans: became the Dutch East Indies in 1798; declared independence in 1945; became a republic in 1950; East Timor (illegally annexed in 1975) became independent in 2002. Parts of Sumatra suffered badly in the Indian Ocean tsunami of December 2004. Official language: Bahasa Indonesia. Religion: Muslim majority. Currency: rupiah. Capital: Jakarta. Pop: 251 160 124 (2013 est). Area: 1 919 317 sq km (741 052 sq miles) Former names (1798–1945) Dutch East Indies, Netherlands East Indies
Collins English Dictionary - Complete & Unabridged 2012 Digital Edition
© William Collins Sons & Co. Ltd. 1979, 1986 © HarperCollins
Publishers 1998, 2000, 2003, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2012
Cite This Source
Jakarta in Culture

Indonesia definition

Republic and archipelago in Southeast Asia comprising over thirteen thousand islands and extending three thousand miles from Malaysia toward Australia, between the Indian Ocean and Pacific Ocean. It includes several of the world's largest islands (see Borneo, Java, New Guinea, and Sumatra). Its capital is Djakarta.

Note: Indonesia was under Dutch control from the beginning of the seventeenth century to World War II, when Japan occupied it. It proclaimed independence in 1945. The islands were called the Dutch East Indies from 1799 until their independence.
Note: The volcanic (see volcano) island of Krakatoa, between Sumatra and Java, erupted in 1883, creating a tsunami that caused great destruction to its neighboring islands. It sent volcanic debris as far as Madagascar.
Note: Rich in nutmeg and cloves, the Moluccas, in the eastern part of the archipelago, are known as the Spice Islands.
Note: Indonesia is the principal oil producer in the Far East and Pacific.
Note: Indonesia is the largest Muslim nation in the world.
Note: In 1975, Indonesia invaded the former Dutch colony of East Timor and, despite international condemnation, annexed it in 1976. In 1999, East Timorese voted overwhelmingly for independence in a U.N.–sponsored referendum. Pro-Indonesia militias then rampaged through East Timor until the arrival of international peacekeepers. Independence was declared in May 2001.
Note: A severe economic downturn in 1998 triggered public protests against corruption and cronyism in the government and led to the resignation of the country's longtime president, General Suharto.
The New Dictionary of Cultural Literacy, Third Edition
Copyright © 2005 by Houghton Mifflin Company.
Published by Houghton Mifflin Company. All rights reserved.
Cite This Source

Word of the Day

Nearby words for jakarta

Word Value for Jakarta

Scrabble Words With Friends