vestibular nucleus


Any of a group of four nuclei, designated lateral, medial, superior, and inferior, that are located in the lateral region of the rhombencephalon, receive the incoming fibers of the vestibular nerve, and project via the medial longitudinal fasciculus to the abducens, trochlear, and oculomotor nuclei and to the ventral horn of the spinal cord, on both the left and the right sides.

Nearby words

  1. vestibular ganglion,
  2. vestibular gland,
  3. vestibular labyrinth,
  4. vestibular membrane,
  5. vestibular nerve,
  6. vestibular nystagmus,
  7. vestibular organ,
  8. vestibular system,
  9. vestibular vein,
  10. vestibule

The American Heritage® Stedman's Medical Dictionary Copyright © 2002, 2001, 1995 by Houghton Mifflin Company. Published by Houghton Mifflin Company.