[ aw-stree-uh-huhng-guh-ree ]
/ ˈɔ stri əˈhʌŋ gə ri /


a monarchy (1867–1918) in central Europe that included the empire of Austria, the kingdom of Hungary, and various crown lands.

Related forms

Aus·tro-Hun·gar·i·an [aw-strohhuhng-gair-ee-uh n] /ˌɔ stroʊhʌŋˈgɛər i ən/, adjective, noun Unabridged Based on the Random House Unabridged Dictionary, © Random House, Inc. 2019

Examples from the Web for austro-hungarian

British Dictionary definitions for austro-hungarian (1 of 2)



of or relating to the Dual Monarchy of Austria-Hungary (1867-1918)

British Dictionary definitions for austro-hungarian (2 of 2)



the Dual Monarchy established in 1867, consisting of what are now Austria, Hungary, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Slovenia, Croatia, and Bosnia-Herzegovina, and parts of Poland, Romania, Ukraine, and Italy. The empire was broken up after World War I
Collins English Dictionary - Complete & Unabridged 2012 Digital Edition © William Collins Sons & Co. Ltd. 1979, 1986 © HarperCollins Publishers 1998, 2000, 2003, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2012