Try Our Apps


Avoid these words. Seriously.

Xinjiang Uygur

or Sinkiang Uighur

[shin-jyahng wee-ger] /ˈʃɪnˈdʒyɑŋ ˈwi gər/
an autonomous region in NW China, bordering Tibet, Mongolia, Kazakhstan, Kirghizia, Tadzhikistan, Pakistan, and India: formerly a province. 635,830 sq. mi. (1,646,800 sq. km).
Capital: Ürümqi.
Official name Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region. Unabridged
Based on the Random House Dictionary, © Random House, Inc. 2018.
Cite This Source
British Dictionary definitions for xinjiang uygur autonomous region

Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region

/ˈʃɪnˈdʒjæŋ ˈwiːɡʊə/
an administrative division of NW China: established in 1955 for the Uygur ethnic minority, with autonomous subdivisions for other small minorities; produces over half China's wool and contains valuable mineral resources. Capital: Ürümqi. Pop: 19 340 000 (2003 est). Area: 1 646 799 sq km (635 829 sq miles)
Collins English Dictionary - Complete & Unabridged 2012 Digital Edition
© William Collins Sons & Co. Ltd. 1979, 1986 © HarperCollins
Publishers 1998, 2000, 2003, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2012
Cite This Source

Word of the Day

Nearby words for xinjiang uygur autonomous region

Word Value for xinjiang

Scrabble Words With Friends