[ gahy-an-uh, -ah-nuh ]
/ gaɪˈæn ə, -ˈɑ nə /


an independent republic on the NE coast of South America: a former British protectorate; gained independence 1966; member of the Commonwealth of Nations. 82,978 sq. mi. (214,913 sq. km). Capital: Georgetown.

Formerly British Guiana.

Related formsGuy·a·nese [gahy-uh-neez, -nees] /ˌgaɪ əˈniz, -ˈnis/, noun, adjective

Can be confusedGuiana Guinea Guyana Unabridged Based on the Random House Unabridged Dictionary, © Random House, Inc. 2019

Examples from the Web for guyana

British Dictionary definitions for guyana


/ (ɡaɪˈænə) /


a republic in NE South America, on the Atlantic: colonized chiefly by the Dutch in the 17th and 18th centuries; became a British colony in 1831 and an independent republic within the Commonwealth in 1966. Official language: English. Religions: Christian and Hindu. Currency: dollar. Capital: Georgetown. Pop: 739 903 (2013 est). Area: about 215 000 sq km (83 000 sq miles)Former name (until 1966): British Guiana
Collins English Dictionary - Complete & Unabridged 2012 Digital Edition © William Collins Sons & Co. Ltd. 1979, 1986 © HarperCollins Publishers 1998, 2000, 2003, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2012

Word Origin and History for guyana


from a native word perhaps meaning "respectable."

Online Etymology Dictionary, © 2010 Douglas Harper