[ kin-shah-suh, kin-shah-suh ]
/ kɪnˈʃɑ sə, ˈkɪn ʃɑ sə /


a port in and capital of the Democratic Republic of the Congo, in the NW part, on the Congo (Zaire) River.
Formerly Léopoldville.

Definition for kinshasa (2 of 2)

[ kong-goh ]
/ ˈkɒŋ goʊ /


People's Republic of the, a republic in central Africa, W of the Democratic Republic of the Congo: formerly an overseas territory in French Equatorial Africa; now an independent member of the French Community. 132,046 sq. mi. (341,999 sq. km). Capital: Brazzaville.Formerly French Congo, Middle Congo.
Democratic Republic of the. Formerly Zaire (1971–97), Also called Democratic Republic of the Congo (1960–71), Also called Belgian Congo (1908–60), Also called Congo Free State (1885–1908). a republic in central Africa: a former Belgian colony; gained independence 1960. 905,568 sq. mi. (2,345,410 sq. km). Capital: Kinshasa.
Also called Zaire. a river in central Africa, flowing in a great loop from SE Democratic Republic of the Congo to the Atlantic. About 3000 miles (4800 km) long.


trans-Con·go, adjective Unabridged Based on the Random House Unabridged Dictionary, © Random House, Inc. 2020

Examples from the Web for kinshasa

British Dictionary definitions for kinshasa (1 of 2)

/ (kɪnˈʃɑːzə, -ˈʃɑːsə) /


the capital of the Democratic Republic of Congo (formerly Zaïre), on the River Congo opposite Brazzaville: became capital of the Belgian Congo in 1929 and of Zaïre in 1960; university (1954). Pop: 5 717 000 (2005 est)Former name (until 1966): Léopoldville

British Dictionary definitions for kinshasa (2 of 2)

/ (ˈkɒŋɡəʊ) /


Democratic Republic of Congo a republic in S central Africa, with a narrow strip of land along the Congo estuary leading to the Atlantic in the west: Congo Free State established in 1885, with Leopold II of Belgium as absolute monarch; became the Belgian Congo colony in 1908; gained independence in 1960, followed by civil war and the secession of Katanga (until 1963); President Mobutu Sese Seko seized power in 1965; declared a one-party state in 1978, and was overthrown by rebels in 1997. The country consists chiefly of the Congo basin, with large areas of dense tropical forest and marshes, and the Mitumba highlands reaching over 5000 m (16 000 ft) in the east. Official language: French. Religion: Christian majority, animist minority. Currency: Congolese franc. Capital: Kinshasa. Pop: 75 507 308 (2013 est). Area: 2 344 116 sq km (905 063 sq miles)Former names: (1885–1908) Congo Free State, (1908–60) Belgian Congo, (1960–71) Congo-Kinshasa, (1971–97) Zaïre
Republic of Congo another name for Congo-Brazzaville
the second longest river in Africa, rising as the Lualaba on the Katanga plateau in the Democratic Republic of Congo and flowing in a wide northerly curve to the Atlantic: forms the border between Congo-Brazzaville and the Democratic Republic of Congo. Length: about 4800 km (3000 miles). Area of basin: about 3 000 000 sq km (1 425 000 sq miles)Former Zaïrese name (1971–97): Zaïre
a variant spelling of Kongo
Collins English Dictionary - Complete & Unabridged 2012 Digital Edition © William Collins Sons & Co. Ltd. 1979, 1986 © HarperCollins Publishers 1998, 2000, 2003, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2012