[ ok-tuh-took, -tyook ]
/ ˈɒk təˌtuk, -ˌtyuk /


the first eight books of the Old Testament, consisting of Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, Deuteronomy, Joshua, Judges, and Ruth, or a volume containing them.

Origin of octateuch

1670–80; < Late Latin octateuchus < Greek oktáteuchos, equivalent to okta- octa- + teûchos container for scrolls
Dictionary.com Unabridged Based on the Random House Unabridged Dictionary, © Random House, Inc. 2019