conterminous United States

[ kuhn-tur-muh-nuhs yoo-nahy-tid steyts ]

noun(used with a singular verb)
  1. an official designation for the 48 states, plus the District of Columbia, that occupy an unbroken block of territory, which does not include the states of Alaska and Hawaii.: Compare continental United States.

Origin of conterminous United States

First recorded in 1945–50
  • Also called con·tig·u·ous U·nit·ed States [kuhn-tig-yoo-uhs yoo-nahy-tid steyts] /kənˈtɪg yu əs yuˈnaɪ tɪd ˈsteɪts/ .

Words Nearby conterminous United States Unabridged Based on the Random House Unabridged Dictionary, © Random House, Inc. 2023