continental United States

[ kon-tn-en-tl yoo-nahy-tid steyts ]

noun(used with a singular verb)
  1. an official designation for the 49 states, plus the District of Columbia, that are located on the continent of North America, which does not include the state of Hawaii.: Compare conterminous United States.

Origin of continental United States

First recorded in 1915–20

Words Nearby continental United States Unabridged Based on the Random House Unabridged Dictionary, © Random House, Inc. 2023