National Book Award

[ nash uh nl bookuh-wawrd, nash nuhl ]
/ ˈnæʃ ə nl ˈbʊk əˌwɔrd, ˈnæʃ nəl /
Save This Word!

any of several awards given annually to an author whose book is judged the best in its category: presented 1936–42, reestablished 1950, and since 1998 administered by the National Book Foundation, a nonprofit organization. Abbreviation: NBA, N.B.A.
We could talk until we're blue in the face about this quiz on words for the color "blue," but we think you should take the quiz and find out if you're a whiz at these colorful terms.
Question 1 of 8
Which of the following words describes “sky blue”?
Meet Grammar CoachWrite or paste your essay, email, or story into Grammar Coach and get grammar helpImprove Your Writing
Meet Grammar CoachImprove Your Writing
Write or paste your essay, email, or story into Grammar Coach and get grammar help
Dictionary.com Unabridged Based on the Random House Unabridged Dictionary, © Random House, Inc. 2021


What are the National Book Awards?

The National Book Awards are U.S.-based literary awards presented annually in several categories, including fiction, nonfiction, poetry, translated literature, and young people’s literature.

The awards are presented by the National Book Foundation. Judging panels for each category consist of writers in that category, including previous winners.

The name of the award is often abbreviated as NBA.

When are the National Book Awards?

The 2021 National Book Award winners will be announced on November 17.

Nominations for the National Book Award are usually announced at the beginning of October, and the awards are usually presented in November.

More information and context on National Book Awards

An award known as the National Book Award was first established in 1936 by the American Booksellers Association, which presented it until 1942. The award was reestablished in 1950 by multiple industry organizations. The awards continued to expand and add categories over the years and were renamed the American Book Awards. Eventually, the National Book Award name was reestablished and the categories were limited to fiction and nonfiction, with administration of the awards coming under the National Book Foundation.

The poetry category was reinstated in 1991. The youth literature category was created in 1996, and the translated literature category was established in 2018.

Notable early winners of the award include Saul Bellow, Truman Capote, Rachel Carson, Ralph Ellison, William Faulkner, Vladimir Nabokov, Flannery O’Connor, and J. D. Salinger.

What are some terms that often get used in discussing the National Book Awards?

How is National Book Awards discussed in real life?

The National Book Award is considered one of the most prestigious literature awards given in the U.S.


Try using National Book Awards!

True or False? 

The National Book Award is presented in multiple categories.

How to use National Book Award in a sentence