or U·rum·chi, U·rum·tsi

[ y-rym-chee ]
/ ˈüˈrümˈtʃi /


a city in and the capital of Xinjiang Uygur region, in NW China.
Formerly Dihua.

Definition for urumqi (2 of 2)

Xinjiang Uygur

or Sin·kiang Ui·ghur

[ shin-jyahng wee-ger ]
/ ˈʃɪnˈdʒyɑŋ ˈwi gər /


an autonomous region in NW China, bordering Tibet, Mongolia, Kazakhstan, Kirghizia, Tadzhikistan, Pakistan, and India: formerly a province. 635,830 sq. mi. (1,646,800 sq. km). Capital: Ürümqi.
Official name Xinjiang Uygur Autonomous Region.
Dictionary.com Unabridged Based on the Random House Unabridged Dictionary, © Random House, Inc. 2019

Examples from the Web for urumqi

  • There are deep-seated tensions in China—the riots in Tibet last year and in Urumqi this summer being only two recent examples.

    Why China Eclipsed Russia|Peter Osnos|July 30, 2009|DAILY BEAST