Triple Crown

[ trip-uhl kroun ]


  1. an unofficial title held by a horse that wins the Kentucky Derby, the Preakness, and the Belmont Stakes in a single season.
  2. a usually unofficial title held by someone who wins three major awards, achievements, or championships in the same year:

    She's the youngest player to have won the league's pitching triple crown (wins, ERA, and strikeouts) two years in a row.

triple crown


  1. RC Church the Pope's tiara
  2. horse racing the winning of three important races in one season
  3. often capitals rugby Union a victory by Scotland, England, Wales, or Ireland in all three games against the others in the annual Six (formerly, Five) Nations Championship Compare grand slam

Discover More

Example Sentences

As the wait for another Triple Crown champion continues, a question lingers.

Finishing the Triple Crown with the Belmont is like concluding a triathlon with a marathon.

Ligety fell short and Miller pulled off a Triple Crown, winning bronze, silver, and gold.

The news meant that the beleaguered sport would go at least 34 years without a Triple Crown winner.

Indeed she had married another coronet twice: there was a positive triple crown on her head like the Pope.

The triple crown of the popes is more commonly called the tiara.

Four shells flew up the long slope and burst among the iron rows that made a great triple crown for Malvern Hill.

Rodes's brigade alone could not wrest that triple crown from the hilltop—no, not if the men had been giants, sons of Anak!

A dense cloud overhung and shrouded the triple crown of Takhoma and made us rejoice at our timely descent.


Discover More

More About Triple Crown

What is the Triple Crown?

Winning all three major U.S. horse races—the Kentucky Derby, the Preakness, and the Belmont Stakes—is known as winning the Triple Crown. The term Triple Crown is sometimes used to refer to the three-race series.

All three races are run on a dirt track and feature a field of three-year-old horses, but the length of each race varies. Winning the Triple Crown is a rare and prestigious accomplishment.

The term Triple Crown is also used in other sporting contexts, often involving winning three major awards or championships in the same year. In Major League Baseball, it typically refers to the accomplishment of leading the league in batting average, home runs, and runs batted in (RBIs).

When is the Triple Crown?

The Triple Crown series begins with the Kentucky Derby, which is traditionally held each year on the first Saturday in May, weather permitting. The Preakness is traditionally held on the third Saturday in May, exactly two weeks after the Kentucky Derby. The Belmont Stakes is traditionally held exactly five weeks after the Kentucky Derby and three weeks after the Preakness, usually on the first Saturday in June.

More information and context on the Triple Crown

On the way to becoming one of the few horses to win the Triple Crown, legendary racehorse Secretariat set records in all three races in 1973. Other notable Triple Crown winners include War Admiral and Seattle Slew. Several horses have won the Kentucky Derby and the Preakness but then failed to win the Triple Crown by losing in the Belmont Stakes.

What are some terms that often get used in discussing the Triple Crown?

How is the Triple Crown discussed in real life?

Winning the Triple Crown is rare and horses that do are highly celebrated. The term is also used in different ways in other sports.

Try using Triple Crown!

True or False?

Several horses have won the Triple Crown despite losing the Belmont Stakes.

Word of the Day


[ak-suh-lot-l ]

Meaning and examples

Start each day with the Word of the Day in your inbox!

By clicking "Sign Up", you are accepting Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policies.




triple creamtriple-decker