deadly sins

See synonyms for: deadly sinsdeadly sin on

plural noun
  1. the seven sins of pride, covetousness, lust, anger, gluttony, envy, and sloth.

Origin of deadly sins

1300–50; Middle English deedly synnes
  • Also called seven deadly sins, capital sins .

Words Nearby deadly sins Unabridged Based on the Random House Unabridged Dictionary, © Random House, Inc. 2024

How to use deadly sins in a sentence

  • It required man, with his imagination, aided by his mastery of matter, to invent the deadly sins.

British Dictionary definitions for deadly sins

deadly sins

pl n
  1. theol the sins of pride, covetousness, lust, envy, gluttony, anger, and sloth

Collins English Dictionary - Complete & Unabridged 2012 Digital Edition © William Collins Sons & Co. Ltd. 1979, 1986 © HarperCollins Publishers 1998, 2000, 2003, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2012